Gloop!!!   3 comments

When I was pregnant I signed up for nearly every pregnancy email update I could find. Every week I’d get like 7 “You are ____ weeks!” emails with fun facts about LA’s development and my personal countdown to motherhood.

I would forward the good ones on to Steve and my mom… it was fun. A little overboard in quantity but it made me smile.

I had no idea they would never end…. LA will be 18 years old and I have a feeling What to Expect When You’re Expecting will send me an email saying “Congratulations your baby is now 864 weeks old. This month they should be graduating and hopefully making plans for their future. You may have noticed a slight attitude change. Be prepared for some rebellion and possibly tears.”

I did try to unsubscribe myself to some but there are some persistent ones… luckily they are the good ones and they seem to have some good tips and games for toddlers. So I don’t mind them coming every week lol

Baby center is one that still appears but they reduced themselves down to monthly rather than weekly. When they come they also link to cool games or activities that are developmentally appropriate. Some have been cool and some have been lame.

When the one for gloop came back at her 19 month “birthday” I was super excited. It seemed like something we just HAD to try. We kept making plans to do it one evening but something always came up. So I figured it was a good place to start in my new resolution.

So I figured that since it was Saturday I better get hopping. Steve thought it sounded fun too so we had been holding off on doing it until we could be together as a family. Which works for you all because now you have pictures, would not have happened otherwise.

Let me just say first of all that you all (Even if your children are teeny babies, even if they are still “on the inside”, even if they exist only in your imagination) YOU MUST TRY THIS! It is awesome!

Also cheap… all you need is cornstarch, water, a big bowl and spoons. If you want to get all fancy like I did some food coloring is good.

Before we could even get started LA was quite happy playing with the giant spoon and water.

So all you do is mix a cup or two of cornstarch with water. There are no real measurements so you can’t mess up. LA enjoyed helping me mix.

This can get really messy (although it’s super easy to clean up) so I’d either head outside or put down newspapers for inside play.

The directions say that gloop is neither a solid nor a liquid, it has the properties of both and will “mesmerize your toddler- and probably you, too!”

So I stirred and added a bit more corn starch and then water. Just a tip, start with less water than you think you need… it will look like it’s not enough and then suddenly look like it’s more than you need.

(see messy)

At one point I thought, it’s kinda hard to mix I’ll just use my hands. That is when I discovered what gloop is… it is difficult to describe.

If you try to press down on it or grab it you will find it’s nearly solid and you can drum on it, tap it, or mold it. But as soon as you stop applying any pressure it reverts to liquid.

I was fascinated as you can see here…. LA was still interested in stirring.

If you lift it up high it will dribble out like liquid but you can see in this picture (sorta) how some of it is hanging more like a stalagmite from hands as it is still partially solid from my touch.

LA still stirring.

Steve was laughing at me by this point because I just found it so fascinating. The texture is nearly beyond description because it’s so unlike anything I’ve ever felt. And LA poked it with her spoon.

You can see texture here a bit more. LA started to be interested in this stuff finally.

Stuck her hand in a bit… you can see on her face she’s not quite sure. And then….


We got this reaction….lol

And she started trying to clean her hands. I probably should have guessed… if she had her way she’d wash her hands 15 times in a row. She generally doesn’t mind dirt (and trust me she gets dirty) but sticky things don’t seem to excite her.

And we moved back to the spoon.

So since she was uninterested I started experimenting more.

You can roll it into a solid, hard ball…

and when I let go…

I didn’t want to be selfish and hog the gloop so I let Steve have a go. You can see how interested LA is at this point…

You can really see the texture here…

You can kinda see how when he runs his hands over it then it becomes hard…..

LA still more interested in spoon and water.

Even though it certainly wasn’t fascinating to LA (yet) she had fun mixing it and playing in the water.  We all played with it as a family and had a good time. She was close to naptime so maybe it was just too much… or she wasn’t in the mood. Who knows but it was well worth it. And as craft/activity goes it was super cheap. We didn’t even use up our whole container of cornstarch and they are only a couple bucks.

PLUS… mom bonus… it was SO easy to clean up. We just dumped water in and it reverted to water. Our hands rinsed clean without even soap.

I would definitely recommend you try this… even if your kids don’t love it (and honestly I think most kids would… especially older ones) you will  love it. And it’s cheap and easy to clean up… win win win

So yup… here she has totally abandoned any pretense of playing with gloop. She asked her Daddy to turn on the bubbles and has headed to the sand box. I’m still playing with it… don’t judge me until you’ve tried it. It is amazing!
Btw… it says it’s good for 19 months but older and younger kids would enjoy too. LA is 21 months old now. Also says that it’s good for fine motor skills and language.

 


3 responses to “Gloop!!!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awesome! Love it angle

  2. Can’t wait to try it tomorrow. My sister says that if you put it next to loud music it “dances”- we’ll see

    • I believe it! I was drumming on it and it was firm enough to make a good sound.
      You may have just given me the excuse I need to do it again…. all in the name of science, of course 😉

Leave a Reply

