Handmade Christmas successes- Coasters   3 comments

So another project that I felt turned out well was homemade coasters.

I purchased white tiles from home depot for 10 cents a piece (I think!). I made coaster sets of four.

I also had to buy Modge Podge, acrylic sealant and regular glue…. this was the most expensive part. If you are planning on making one set of coasters (as I originally was) this is not cost effective. If you will use these things or will make lots of coasters (or use them for future projects) than it is šŸ™‚

Then you need fun paper. You can use anything. I happened to use some cool scrapbook paper I had. You could even use family pictures which is fun!

You need to cut the paper until it is slightly smaller than the top of your coaster.

Then you paint on a layer of modge podge and set the paper in the center of the tile. Paint another thin layer on top and let it dry.

repeat this 2-4 times or until you feel it’s firmly “on”…. The modge podge will dry clear not to worry.

When you are done and they are dry you need to spray them with the acrylic sealant… this will make them waterproof, and effective coasters šŸ˜‰

I took mine outside to do this and I did several layers as well.

Next you cut out felt and glue it to the bottom… voila!

I failed to take completed pictures but you can get the general idea I think.
I was pleased with them, those who received them as gifts seemed to like them. My only complaint was even though I let them thoroughly dry the felt seemed to stick to the coaster underneath when you stacked them….
But they were cute šŸ™‚

3 responses to “Handmade Christmas successes- Coasters

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So are these for Christmas 2012? Or is this series a recap from 2011?

    • This is a recap of all that I did for this past Christmas (2011)…. I may be doing some of these again for this year. But I probably won’t start planning for this Christmas until summer at the earliest šŸ™‚
      Couldn’t post them before as some people who were receiving them read the blog lol

  2. I love my coasters!!!! šŸ™‚

    Christine Stark

Leave a Reply

