Writing the novel- update   3 comments

I stated in my last post about writing that I’d aim to write 5 new pages a week. I am not backing out on that goal but I did have to amend it. Before I can start writing new pages I need to go through and reread what I’ve already got.

It truly has been about 7 years since I worked on this project. On top of that when I go through and read I find error after error and issues. Generally I’m happy with it and occasionally even impressed with myself but it’s a first draft that I haven’t looked at in a long time…. so I can’t help myself from revising and editing as I go through.

Since I have quite a few pages I’m giving myself two weeks to do this and THEN will begin writing 5 new pages a week, minimum. I’m also taking notes and brainstorming things for when I start writing more.

On another note I’ve had at least two people ask if they will be able to read what I have here or elsewhere. Part of me would like to post what I have here for ease of sharing…. and I would love to get feedback. But I’m not sure it’s a good idea for privacy/copyright issue (I obviously have copyright on it the moment it’s written but if things get stolen it can be hard to rescue or claim them…. plus even having the idea out there could be bad, theoretically). Also, I would be posting A LOT over time, we’re talking about a whole novel and a blog probably isn’t the best place to comfortably read one.

So I think what I will do is occasionally post a bit here and there, maybe what I take to class plus other bits. And if you know me personally and want to read more just let me know and I’ll send it to you.

But you have to be kind and forgiving with your notes, bearing in mind it’s a first draft… and those notoriously rarely see the light of day, because they are so dreadful!

Posted February 24, 2012 by etainl in Writing

3 responses to “Writing the novel- update

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My experience is that no matter how often I read through a manuscript I find things i’d like to change.

    • Definitely! I read that for the anniversary edition of Fahrenheit 451 Ray Bradbury had edits he wanted to make, but they wouldn’t let him because the book is a classic. I think a good writer is always looking to improve their work.
      But going over that first draft is usually where I find the most things! And with good reason šŸ™‚ I read once that the first draft was just for a writer to get the words on paper, no matter how messy, dirty or just plain bad it was!

  2. I think that it would be wise not to post your work online. From what I have heard in the way of horror stories, it is IMPOSSIBLE to claim your work and/or get compensation when it is stolen. And things get stolen by supposedly reputable publications who will just blow you off because you’re just one little person wiho can’t afford a legal battle. You might even want to take down what you’ve already posted to protect yourself. Just a thought.

    That said I have seriously considered asking you to email me the rest of Sadira because I’ve been thinking about it constantly, hahaha. Anyway, sounds like a great plan! I hope you have a lot of fun with this class.

Leave a Reply

