Hello World!   Leave a comment

So I have started this new blog.

I spent a lot of time thinking about what I wanted to write about.

I would love to come up with some fabulous blog that will open the doors to getting my book published or make us enough money that I can stay home with my daughter while enjoying a fat savings account and yearly trips to Europe…. but I’ve got nothing.

“Write what you know” they say.

What do I know?

I know how to cook. I love to putter in the kitchen and sometimes things turn out spectacularly, sometimes they don’t.

I love to write. But how do you write about writing? I’m still trying to just get in my 20 minutes a day. To write about more might burn me out.

About being a mom. I’m no expert and I’m not sure I have anything additional to offer to the myriad of blogs on this one topic already out there.

My daily life? I wish I was that interesting….. ha!

I thought about writing about some of the creative things I’d like to do with my daughter (who for the sake of privacy I will call the Little Angel or LA). I majored in Classical Humanities and I love history and mythology and archaeology. As a teacher I was quite good (I like to think) about coming up with interesting lessons in these topics. For a while I got excited about the idea of writing about this. Then I realized LA is 3 months old, crafts and lessons are a while off.

I started thinking the other day about my life and how it’s so easy to get caught up on the things we want to change. Our needs-

-I need to pay off our credit card

-I need to make more money so I can stay home with LA

– I need to get the house clean

-I need to get back to the gym

– I need to take my poor neglected dogs to the park before they eat the cat out of boredom.

Instead of just listing my needs I should count my blessings.

-Wonderful, attentive, supportive husband (who I think is darn hot!)

-Beautiful, healthy, smiley baby who makes me laugh every day

-Two fuzzy, ridiculously loving doggies

-One crazy cat

-A roof over our head and a beautiful home attached to it

– Our health (minus my migraines and Steve’s back)

-Loving Family

-Fabulous, funny friends

When I look at that list my “needs” seem trivial…. I have what counts.

So I thought about writing a blog about things I’m grateful for. I looked up quotes on gratitude and found these….

Gratitude is the memory of the heart. -French Proverb

Wake at dawn with a winged heart and give thanks for another day of loving. -Kahlil Gibran

Both of those quotes are stop me in my tracks beautiful. I don’t know if they make anyone else feel the way they make me feel but they just seem so true.

Based on those quotes, and some others I came up with a short list of names for the blog that were available.

Memories of the heart- Steve’s favorite

A winged heart

I give thanks

I know the plans for you

The greatest act of hope- Steve’s favorite

The bridge to heaven

I picked A Winged Heart for the address because I liked how it tied into the quote and the small humor of the fact that my name is Angel… wings, Angel, get it? And I am naming the blog Memories of the Heart because hopefully it will remind me to be grateful for what I have.

But I didn’t think I could write just about things I’m grateful for… because sometimes I need to vent. However I did think I could make an effort to bring it back to what I can be grateful for. At least for my own sake…. trying to keep it positive.

I concluded that I know a little bit about a lot of stuff…. so if I stick with what I know, that is what I write about.  So, to sum it up I will be writing about all of the above. Because no matter how much thought I put into it I couldn’t think of just one thing I know well enough to write about or would want to stick to. Which means I guess I’ll just be writing about life.

But for my own sake I’d like to use this blog as a way to bring myself back to what really counts and to remind myself of my blessings rather than to dwell on what I only think I need… I already have what I need already, truly.

Posted December 3, 2010 by etainl in Arts & Crafts, Culture, Education, Food, Life, New Mom, Stay at Home Mom

Leave a Reply

